Past Winners

	2012
EATON	Jonathan Kane, Adaeze Ajoku, Gustavo Lang, Jr,
	Omari Hardy
	2011
UNIVERSITY	Elana Reman, Wes Rogerson, Tanner Simkins,
VILLAGE	Marlow Svatek, Vince Venincasa
	2010
HECHT	Margaret Capobianco, Marie Cushmore,
	Trevor Lee, Martin Lopez, James Seyfried, Jr.
	2009
HECHT	Mark Daniels, Haley Kornfield,
	Robert Levine, Tim McNaught
	2008
HECHT	Eric Allseits, Melissa Hebra, Danny Rosenberg
	2007
STANFORD	Nora McDonnell, Tim McNaught,
	Seth Price, CJ Walker

Anita Cava, J.D. Professor, Business Law Department Co-Director, UM Ethics Programs Director, Business Ethics Program

Kenneth Goodman, Ph.D. Professor, Medicine and Philosophy Co-Director, UM Ethics Programs

University of Miami Ethics Programs P.O. Box 016960 (M-825) Miami, FL 33101 Telephone: 303-284-5083, 305-243-5723 Email: ethics@miami.edu

THE ARSHT ETHICS DEBATES AT SPORTSFEST

Sunday, February 3, 2013

UNIVERSITY OF MIAMI ETHICS PROGRAMS



Schedule of Events

Welcome and Introductions -
Anita Cava, J.D. and Ken Goodman, Ph.D.
Arsht Ethics Debate Round 1
Arsht Ethics Debate Round 2
Arsht Ethics Debate Final Round
Remarks & Trophy Presentation

Judges

Noel Alphonse	Philosophy Department	
Brad Cokelet, Ph.D.	Philosophy Department	
Lisa Foose		
Lisa Hirsch, J.D.,	, J.D., Assistant US Attorney	
Ryan Kairalla, J.D. Jonathan Kroner, Esq.	Director of Compliance & Government Affairs/ In-House Counsel Academica Virtual Education , Jonathan Kroner Law	
Amanda Perwin, J.D.	Assistant US Attorney	
Steven Priepke, J.D.	Assistant Dean of Students	
Seth Schlessinger, J.D. Assistant US Attorney		
Don Slesnick, J.D.	Former Mayor, City of Coral Gables	

Participants

COMMUTER 1

Carlos Markovich Dimitrije Canic Julian Castro

COMMUTER 2 Oscar Fernandez Constanza Schubert Mariorl Calderon

EATON Ji Noh Obianuju Akaniru Matthew Piscatelli Louis Cai

MAHONEY Chris Pinto Adelola Adeyemo Jordyn Cohen

Jose Miguel Rosillo

<u>HECHT</u>

Daniel Kane Ari Mont Michael Burgomaster

> PEARSON Nick Bixler Gerald Cowen Ken Yu

STANFORD 1

Blake Weil Sabrina Dessipe Patrick Quinlan

STANFORD 2

Hiten Doshi Vignesh Kumaresan Sumedh Shah

Special Thanks

Evaline Gardiner Fornino—Administrative Assistant Ana Bezanilla—Director, Research Support Anita Cava, J.D.—Professor, Business Law and Ethics Programs Co-Director Kenneth Goodman, Ph.D.—Professor, Medicine & Philosophy and Ethics Programs Co-Director Christine Sinicrope and Taylor Votek—Debate Co-Chairs Caroline Mosley—President of Ethics Society Philip Fitzpatrick—Vice President of Ethics Society Ethics Society